The Lace Market Hotel shoot

by Ryan Garwood

These images were shot for Hannah Dudley’s Lookbook/Magazine, the original idea was for it to be a editorial magazine but towards the end took on the shape of a lookbook. One of the first shoots I did this term for the fashion design students was Hannahs black dress, which can be seen towards the bottom of my blog. As well as fashion design Hannah also likes styling and this shoot was set up in a way to help Hannah show she is also capable of the styling side of things. We have used spare parts of the black dress and placed them where we thought appropriate and worked well.

At the beginning of this project I spoke with Hannah about ideas and inspiration and we were looking at involving water in some way. Hannahs inspiration being under water sea life and light emitting sea creatures, it seemed necessary to shoot within water. We looked into shooting under water in a pool, but could not arrange a location in the time we had. Instead we thought a bath could work, but it had to be a reasonable size and free standing so that I could work around it. We used a bath in one of The Lace Market Hotel’s rooms, it was nice and light and I had plenty of space to work with.

Keeping it short and sweet, but these are a few of the images that I got from the shoot. Overall I am really pleased with them, but I need to go through all the images again as I think there is enough material to make a small series out of them and I think there are some images that are going to well better with others.

Model – Miriam/Model Students

Make up – Hannah Batchelor

B29A1197

